CHS Alliance Board, Chair and Vice-Chair elected by members at first General Assembly

The CHS Alliance is pleased to announce the election of its board, chair and vice-chair by representatives from its over 200 members at the organisation’s first General Assembly in Geneva on 3 November 2016.

Ten representatives of the CHS Alliance full members and five independent representatives were elected to the board by over 60 voting member representatives. Two of the independent candidates represent people affected by crisis – Dr. Samah Bassas and Osama Ezzo, both from Syria.

Robert Tickner was elected chair of the Alliance. Robert previously held the position of interim chair of the Alliance from January 2016 until present. Robert is former Federal Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs in Australia, with a distinguished career at International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, most recently as the Acting Under Secretary General, Partnerships. He was the Chief Executive Officer of Australian Red Cross from 2005 to 2015.

Jules L. Frost, International Director of Medair, was elected vice-chair of the Alliance. John Beverly was elected treasurer of the Alliance.

“I am deeply honoured to be elected chair at such an exciting time for the future of the organisation,” said Robert Tickner.

“We have a huge responsibility as the board to support our members and promote the Core Humanitarian Standard (CHS) more widely across the sector.

“It’s also critical that we back up the commitment to localisation made at the World Humanitarian Summit with concrete action from within the CHS Alliance membership.”

CHS Alliance Executive Director Judith F. Greenwood said: “I am delighted that the new CHS Alliance board fully represents the diversity of our members themselves who are local, national, large, small, southern and northern humanitarian actors.”

“I’m really proud of what we’ve achieved so far in the 18 months since the Alliance’s launch. I’m also excited about the future potential of the CHS to make a huge difference to the lives of people and communities affected by crisis.”

The CHS Alliance board:

  • Dr. Samah Bassas, Independent, CEO, Syria Relief Network
  • John Edward Beverley (Treasurer), Independent/Retired
  • Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, COAST Trust, Executive Director
  • Osama Ezzo, Independent, Former volunteer Syrian Arab Red Crescent Society
  • Jules L. Frost (Vice-Chair), Medair, International Director
  • Nick Guttmann, Christian Aid, Head of Humanitarian Division
  • Jacqueline Heany, CAFOD, Head of People and Performance
  • Sayeda Tahya Hossain, BRAC, Chief People Officer, Human Resource and Learning Division
  • Prof. Dorothea Hilhorst, Independent, Wageningen University, Netherlands, Special Chair Humanitarian Aid and Reconstruction, Secretary and Founding Member of the International Humanitarian Studies Association
  • Takeshi Komino, Community World Service, Asia, Deputy Director, Regional Programs and Resource Mobilisation
  • Bijay Kumar, ActionAid International, Kenya, Executive Director
  • Jacqueline Koster, World Renew, Regional Program Manager, Central, East and Southern Africa
  • Martha Nemera Woyessa, Women Support Association, Executive Director
  • Robert Sweatman, British Red Cross, Head of Performance and Accountability
  • Robert Tickner (Chair), Independent, Former Acting Under Secretary General, Partnerships - International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and Former CEO, Australian Red Cross

The newly elected board replaces the CHS Alliance interim board that was put in place at the CHS Alliance Constitutive General in Nairobi on 9 June 2015. Robert Tickner thanked the outgoing interim board members: Joan Coyle (Save the Children International), Anabel Cruz (Independent), Véronique de Geoffrey (Groupe URD), Anne de Riedmatten (Swiss International Development Agency), Loretta Hieber Girardet (UNOCHA), Camilla Knox-Peebles (Oxfam), Mudasser Hussain Siddiqui (Plan International), Willem van Eekelen (Independent), Diane Willis (WorldFish), Jeff Wright (World Vision International). Judith also acknowledged the service of outgoing board members in establishing strong foundations for the Alliance going forward.