Investigator Qualification Training Scheme

Course format
Face-to-face or Remote
Course length
3 Tiered programme with qualification maintenance

This programme replaces previously run SEA Investigation workshops.

The CHS Alliance and Humentum are jointly designing* a three-tiered Investigation Qualification Training Scheme (IQTS) based on a newly developed Sexual Exploitation Abuse and Harassment (SEAH) investigation guide.

The development and implementation of this scheme is funded by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office as part of UK governments strategy to improve global standards and performance on safeguarding in the humanitarian and development sector. *Please note that the course is still undergoing final design development.

Course aim: the new Investigator Qualification Training Scheme (IQTS) is a three-tiered training scheme that builds professional skills in Sexual Exploitation Abuse and Harassment (SEAH) investigations and establishes a professional standard and career progression for investigators. The three-tiers supports progressively advanced levels of professional training. Tier 2 is designed to equip participants with the necessary skills to undertake SEAH investigations under the supervision of an experienced SEAH investigator. The purpose of Tier 3 is to provide participants with the skills to undertake SEAH investigations without supervision.

Audience: the scheme is aimed at humanitarian staff whose role it is to investigate allegations of SEAH by aid workers against crisis-affected people and/or humanitarian staff. Applicants with previous training and experience in SEAH Investigations can apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Qualification: At Tier 2 level, a certification of theory is obtained through successfully completing an external multiple-choice examination. At Tier 3, successful candidates obtain qualification by meeting or exceeding the assessment criteria during the training course. Tier 3 qualification will be valid for two years, and maintenance will require demonstration of Continual Professional Development (CPD).

Failure at Tier 2 requires re-doing the examination. Failure at Tier 3 requires re-doing the course.

Already available

The IQTS-related investigation resources (guide and toolkit):

Download the Investigators’ Toolkit

The IQTS first tier, the self-directed online foundation module, is available free of charge. To access the course, visit the Disaster Ready platform, where you need to create an account and search for the course ‘Foundations of SEAH Investigations’:

Visit the Disaster Ready platform

Module overview and timing of availability

Module Methodology Launch dates Cost 
1. Foundation Self-directed online module Available on Disaster Ready platform Free
2. Theory Blended learning programme (self-directed and virtual classroom sessions) with external examination (multiple choice questions) January and February events are now fully booked. New dates will be added in 2023 295-545 CHF
3. Practice 4-day in-person course Availability to be confirmed in 2023 1200 to 2100 CHF*
4.Qualification Maintenance Continual investigation experience and  learning Availability to be confirmed in 2023 Maintenance: admin fee; exclusive of participation to specific training events.

*Prices are indicative only. The price scheme will accomodate CHS Alliance membership status, including size of organisation and country level of income. Further discounts are applicable to small CHS Alliance member organisations that are based in low or lower middle income countries.