Our Governance

General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) of members is the Alliance’s supreme authority. The quorum for the GA is 40 percent of the voting membership of CHS Alliance. In between assemblies, the Governing Board is authorised to carry out all acts that further the purposes of the Alliance. 

Read the minutes of the First General Assembly, held in Geneva on 3 November 2016
Read the minutes of the Constitutive General Assembly, held in Nairobi on 9 June 2015


The CHS Alliance Secretariat facilitates and promotes cooperation and coordination between the members. The Secretariat is managed by the Executive Director who is appointed by the Governing Board.


The GA elected a governing board of CHS Alliance on 3 November 2016 in Geneva, Switzerland. Each individual board member’s term of office will last three years, renewable once. The board is supported by three Standing Committees: i) Membership and Nominations Committee; ii) Finance, Risk and Audit Committee; and, iii) Complaints Committee. 

Board members

  1. Robert Tickner (Chair), Independent, Former Acting Under Secretary General, Partnerships - International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and Former CEO, Australian Red Cross
  2. Jules L. Frost (Vice-Chair), Medair, International Director
  3. Dr. Samah Bassas, Independent, CEO, Syria Relief Network
  4. John Edward Beverley (Treasurer), Independent/Retired
  5. Rezaul Karim Chowdhury, COAST Trust, Executive Director
  6. Osama Ezzo, Independent, Former volunteer Syrian Arab Red Crescent Society
  7. Nick Guttmann, Christian Aid, Head of Humanitarian Division
  8. Prof. Dorothea Hilhorst, Independent, Wageningen University, Netherlands, Special Chair Humanitarian Aid and Reconstruction, Secretary and Founding Member of the International Humanitarian Studies Association
  9. Takeshi Komino, Community World Service, Asia, Deputy Director, Regional Programs and Resource Mobilisation
  10. Bijay Kumar, ActionAid International, Kenya, Executive Director
  11. Jacqueline Koster, World Renew, Regional Programme Manager, Central, East and Southern Africa
  12. Martha Nemera Woyessa, Women Support Association (WSA), Executive Director
  13. Ariadna Pop, First Secretary, Humanitarian Affairs Section, Swiss Permanent Mission to the UN
  14. Robert Sweatman, British Red Cross, Head of Performance and Accountability

Board minutes